ARTICLE 18 - PROFESSIONAL REVIEW PANEL
 
9-2-1801.  Short title.
 
This act may be cited as the "Wyoming Professional Review Panel Act".
 
9-2-1802.  Purpose.
 
(a)  The purpose of this act is to:
 
(i)  Reduce the costs of professional malpractice claims to both plaintiffs and defendants by a less formal professional review of claims before litigation is pursued in the courts; and
 
(ii)  Improve the ability of the state to regulate professions and ensure professional competence.
 
9-2-1803.  Definitions.
 
(a)  As used in this act:
 
(i)  "Malpractice claim" means any claim against a professional for alleged departure from accepted professional standards which results in damage to the claimant;
 
(ii)  "Panel" means the Wyoming professional review panel provided for under this act;
 
(iii)  "Professional" means a person licensed under title 33 for whom the normal qualifications for licensure include at least a year of specialized post secondary education, or a hospital or nursing care facility;
 
(iv)  "This act" means W.S. 9-2-1801 through 9-2-1812.
 
9-2-1804.  Service of pleadings; computation of time.
 
(a)  The claim, answer, decision and all other pleadings required to be served under this act shall be served in accordance with the Wyoming Rules of Civil Procedure.
 
(b)  Computation of time periods prescribed or allowed under this act shall be in accordance with rule 6 of the Wyoming Rules of Civil Procedure.
 
9-2-1805.  Panel created; compensation; director of panel; appointment and duties; rulemaking.
 
(a)  There is created the Wyoming professional review panel.
 
(b)  The panel shall have a director who shall be appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the governor and shall conduct the administrative business of the panel and otherwise implement this act. The director may employ personnel necessary to implement this act. The director shall promulgate rules and regulations in accordance with the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act to implement this act.
 
(c)  Members of the panel shall receive compensation while engaged in the business of the board of forty dollars ($40.00) per hour for any hour during which a hearing or part of a hearing is held. Compensation for travel and other services shall be as provided by rules and regulations promulgated by the director. Compensation to any panel member under this subsection shall not exceed three hundred twenty dollars ($320.00) per day.
 
9-2-1806.  Claims to be reviewed by panel; prohibition on filing claims in court; tolling of statute of limitation; immunity of panel and witnesses; administration.
 
(a)  The panel shall review all professional malpractice claims against professionals filed with the panel except those claims subject to a valid arbitration or mediation agreement allowed by law or upon which suit has been filed prior to July 1, 1989. No complaint alleging malpractice shall be filed in any court against a professional before a claim is made to the panel and its decision is rendered. The running of the applicable limitation period in a malpractice action is tolled upon receipt by the director of the application for review and does not begin again until thirty (30) days after the panel's final decision is served upon the claimant.
 
(b)  Panel members and witnesses are absolutely immune from civil liability for all acts in the course and scope of the duties under this act, including but not limited to communications, findings, opinions and conclusions.
 
(c)  The panel may provide for the administration of oaths, the receipt of claims filed, the promulgation of forms required under this act, the issuance of subpoenas in connection with the administration of this act, and the performance of all other acts required to fairly and effectively administer this act. A party requesting a subpoena shall bear all costs of mileage and witness fees.
 
9-2-1807.  Claim review procedure; contents of claim; service of claim on provider; answer.
 
(a)  Claimants shall submit a case for the consideration of the panel prior to filing a complaint in any court in this state by addressing a claim, in writing, signed by the claimant or his attorney, to the director of the panel. The claim shall contain:
 
(i)  A statement in reasonable detail of the elements of the professional's conduct which are believed to constitute a malpractice claim, the dates the conduct occurred, and the names and addresses of all professionals having contact with the claimant relevant to the claim and all witnesses;
 
(ii)  A statement authorizing the panel to obtain access to all records and information pertaining to the claim and, for the purposes of its consideration of this matter only, waiving any privilege as to the contents of those records. Nothing in the statement may in any way be construed as waiving that privilege for any other purpose or in any other context, in or out of court.
 
(b)  The claim may be amended by filing an amendment not less than fourteen (14) days prior to the hearing date.
 
(c)  Upon receipt of a claim, the director shall cause a true copy of the claim to be served on the professionals against whom the claim has been filed.
 
(d)  The professional shall answer the claim within thirty (30) days after service and shall submit a statement authorizing the panel to inspect all records and information pertaining to the claim except those records which are privileged pursuant to law. The answer shall be filed with the director who shall serve a copy on the claimant.
 
9-2-1808.  Panel composition; selection; disqualification of panelist; multiple defendants.
 
(a)  The panel for each claim reviewed under this act shall consist of two (2) professionals licensed in this state if required by law to be licensed, and three (3) lay persons who are not professionals or an employee of a professional. All panel members shall be residents of this state. If feasible one (1) member of the panel shall be from the professional's profession or specialty. In those cases where the theory of respondeat superior or some other derivative theory of recovery is employed, if feasible one (1) member shall be from the professional's profession or specialty and one (1) member shall be from the profession or specialty of the professional named as employer, master or principal.
 
(b)  Within five (5) days of receipt, the director shall notify the state licensing agency if any, of the professional involved and the governor of the filing of the claim. Within fourteen (14) days of notification, the state licensing agency shall each provide the director a list of twelve (12) of its members as proposed panelists. Within fourteen (14) days of notification, the governor shall also provide the director with a list of twelve (12) people willing and able to serve as panelists. To the extent possible, the state licensing agency shall include on the list persons specializing in the same field or discipline as the professional against whom the claim is made. The director shall select two (2) from each list to serve as panelists and shall notify the parties and the panel members selected of their selection. The four (4) panelists shall unanimously select and appoint one (1) person as the fifth panelist.
 
(c)  At or prior to the hearing, the panel shall select a chairman from among its members. The chairman shall preside over the panel proceedings.
 
(d)  If, within fifteen (15) days of receipt of the notice of selection of panelists, the claimant or the professional against whom the claim is made files an affidavit stating his belief that a panelist selected by the director cannot be impartial in reviewing the claim, the panel member is disqualified, and the director shall select another from the list. Each party may disqualify not more than three (3) panel members under this subsection.
 
(e)  The director may excuse a panelist from serving if the panelist feels his presence on the panel would be inappropriate under the circumstances of the case.
 
(f)  When a claim is filed against two (2) or more professionals, the claim against each professional shall be consolidated for hearing unless by stipulation of all parties or at the discretion of the panel, the claims are heard separately.
 
9-2-1809.  Hearing procedure; review of decision prohibited.
 
(a)  The director shall set a time and place for the hearing and provide notice to all parties at least thirty (30) days prior to the hearing. The hearing date shall not be more than one hundred twenty (120) days after the director receives the claim unless the panel finds good cause to delay the hearing. At least fifteen (15) days before the hearing the director shall provide each panel member copies of all claims, briefs, records and other documents the director considers necessary.
 
(b)  The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with rules and regulations promulgated by the director. The hearing shall be informal, and the Wyoming Rules of Evidence do not apply. No decision of the director or the panel is subject to review in a court. A record of the hearing may be made if so stipulated by all the parties and the panel.
 
(c)  The panel may take the case under advisement or may request that additional facts, records, witnesses or other information be obtained and presented to it at a supplemental hearing, which shall be set for a date not later than thirty (30) days from the date of the original hearing unless the claimant or his attorney consents in writing to a longer period.
 
9-2-1810.  Panel deliberations and decision; decision not binding.
 
(a)  Upon consideration of all the relevant material, the panel shall determine whether there is:
 
(i)  Substantial evidence that the acts complained of occurred and that they constitute malpractice; and
 
(ii)  A reasonable probability that the claimant was injured as a result of the acts complained of.
 
(b)  The deliberations of the panel are confidential. All votes of the panel on the questions for discussion shall be by secret ballot. The decision shall be by a majority vote of the panel and shall be signed by the chairman.
 
(c)  The decision shall be in writing and forwarded to the director who shall serve copies on the parties. A copy of the decision shall be sent to the professional's state licensing board, if any.
 
(d)  The panel's decision is not binding upon any party. The panel may by stipulation of the parties recommend an award.
 
9-2-1811.  Confidentiality of panel proceedings; privilege; decision not admissible.
 
(a)  The director shall maintain records of all proceedings before the panel, which shall include the nature of the act or omissions alleged in the claim, a brief summary of the evidence presented, the decision of the panel and any majority or minority opinions filed. Except as otherwise required by law, any records which may identify any party to the proceedings shall not be made public and are not subject to subpoena but are to be used solely for the purpose of compiling statistical data and facilitating ongoing studies of professional malpractice in this state.
 
(b)  No panel member may be called to testify in any proceeding concerning the deliberations, discussions, decisions and internal proceedings of the panel.
 
(c)  The decision of the panel is not admissible as evidence in any action.
 
9-2-1812.  Assessments; funding.
 
(a)  The panel shall be funded from assessments levied against and paid by each professional covered by this act. The director shall promulgate rules and regulations to annually establish appropriate assessments based upon the following guidelines:
 
(i)  The total amount of the panel's proposed annual budget shall be prorated among the professional classification covered under this act based on the number of cases reviewed by the panel during the immediately preceding calendar year involving each professional classification;
 
(ii)  The prorated amount determined for each professional classification shall be divided by the number of practicing professionals within each classification to determine the individual assessment.
 
(b)  The director shall certify the amount of each assessment to the appropriate licensing board, agency or authority and the board, agency or authority shall levy and collect the assessments annually at the time annual license fees are collected. Assessments collected under this subsection shall be remitted to the director not later than thirty (30) days from the date of collection and paid immediately by the director to the state treasurer for deposit into the malpractice review account.
 
(c)  Monies in the malpractice review account shall be expended by the panel to carry out the purposes of this act.